Log me on automatically each visit
Mapping, modding, coding, photoshop, game related and so on

Really Need help.

Really Need help.

Postby Sasuke » 09 Mar 2013, 03:48

Well, to start off. I bought JKA from steam a while back. I installed it today, downloaded jk+ put it in the gamedata folder and launched my game. Two things I need help
1) Whenever I connect to the AFL server I can't join and I get an error in my console saying "unknown cmd ui_macroscan" I searched it up on google, and it said other files were messing with jk+ files, and I do not know which files are doing this.
2) When I try to edit my resolution 1366x768 in jaconfig file, i put r_mode "-1" r_customwidth "768" r_customheight "1366" and When I launch the game, Nothing, the resolution does not change.
Please I really need help.
Image
User avatar
Sasuke
AFL Member: Sith Faction
AFL Member: Sith Faction
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 00:11
Location: New York
Nickname: Sasuke
Recruited: 02 Dec 2008
Skin: Reborn Boss
Modder: No

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Seth » 09 Mar 2013, 06:09

Did you update jka?
Image
User avatar
Seth
Sith Lord
Sith Lord
 
Posts: 511
Joined: 13 Sep 2008, 14:07
Nickname: Seth
Recruited: 12 Sep 2008
Skin: My own reskin
Modder: No

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Drax » 09 Mar 2013, 06:12

Seth wrote:Did you update jka?


Steam does that automatically.
Reintstall everything, go to steam library right click JKA and delete local content.
-=AFL Drax=-
User avatar
Drax
Jedi Guardian
Jedi Guardian
 
Posts: 1342
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 23:45
Location: Yellow Brick Road/Flatland
Recruited: 21 Oct 2009
Skin: Tommy Wiseau(Blue)
Modder: No
Rank: Jedi Guardian

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Saiaku » 09 Mar 2013, 13:22

Clear your base folder for custom content (AFL files shouldn't be the problem tho).

After you set video-related settings such as resolution, you need to call /vid_restart for it to take effect.
Image
User avatar
Saiaku
 
 
 
Posts: 4318
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 15:30
Location: Tokyo
Nickname: Saiaku
Recruited: 0- 2-2004
Master: none
Skin: Geth
Modder: Yes
Rank: Clan Master

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Jakey » 09 Mar 2013, 16:13

edit the jampconfig file in both the base folder and japlus folder, that should sort your problem.
User avatar
Jakey
Jedi Guardian
Jedi Guardian
 
Posts: 491
Joined: 06 Jun 2009, 14:17
Location: England
Nickname: J4K3YB0Y
Recruited: 06 Jun 2009
Skin: Jante
Modder: Yes

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Sasuke » 09 Mar 2013, 17:48

SAIAKU wrote:Clear your base folder for custom content (AFL files shouldn't be the problem tho).

After you set video-related settings such as resolution, you need to call /vid_restart for it to take effect.


I also done that in console, I typed,
r_mode "-1"
r_customwidth "768"
r_customwidth "1366"
vid_restart
Nothing. Stayed the same.
But I'll try to delete my whole Base folder, delete JKA and do everything all over again.
Image
User avatar
Sasuke
AFL Member: Sith Faction
AFL Member: Sith Faction
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 00:11
Location: New York
Nickname: Sasuke
Recruited: 02 Dec 2008
Skin: Reborn Boss
Modder: No

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Saiaku » 09 Mar 2013, 18:04

Vid_restart will reload the jka game window, and reload the map if you were on one. Did that happen?

If not, something sounds really off.
Image
User avatar
Saiaku
 
 
 
Posts: 4318
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 15:30
Location: Tokyo
Nickname: Saiaku
Recruited: 0- 2-2004
Master: none
Skin: Geth
Modder: Yes
Rank: Clan Master

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Sasuke » 09 Mar 2013, 18:07

SAIAKU wrote:Vid_restart will reload the jka game window, and reload the map if you were on one. Did that happen?

If not, something sounds really off.

I was not on a server when I did that, I was in the main menu.
Image
User avatar
Sasuke
AFL Member: Sith Faction
AFL Member: Sith Faction
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 00:11
Location: New York
Nickname: Sasuke
Recruited: 02 Dec 2008
Skin: Reborn Boss
Modder: No

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Sasuke » 09 Mar 2013, 18:31

It is fixed, thanks all.
Image
User avatar
Sasuke
AFL Member: Sith Faction
AFL Member: Sith Faction
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 00:11
Location: New York
Nickname: Sasuke
Recruited: 02 Dec 2008
Skin: Reborn Boss
Modder: No

Re: Really Need help.

Postby Orion » 09 Mar 2013, 20:51

Sasuke wrote:It is fixed, thanks all.

T'is good to hear, mein friend, also is good you are back. :D
Image
User avatar
Orion
AFL Member: Jedi Faction
AFL Member: Jedi Faction
 
Posts: 3094
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 17:38
Location: Alabama
Nickname: Orion/Kagetora
Recruited: 28 May 2010
Master: Kaje
Skin: Orion's personal skin
Modder: Yes
Rank: Adept

Return to Tutorials & Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest